» Myanmar Version » Mobile Version
Other News
44 schools remain closed in Mon State
Source : Daily Eleven View Count : 810
Aug 09, 2018

Forty-four schools in Mon State remain closed due to floods, according to Mon State Education Officer Office.

Le Le Kyi, Deputy Director (Admin) of the Mon State Education Officer Office said: “Forty-four flood-hit schools in Mon State—36 in Kyaikmayaw Township, seven in Paung Township, one in Thaton Township—remain closed. The Education Ministry has reopened 114 schools—74 in Belin Township, 27 in Thaton Township, two in Paung Township and eight in Mawlamyine Township.”

“Floodwater has not receded in some low-laying areas yet. Water level of Thanlwin River remains as there are incessant rains. Some schools are used as relief camps. Floods hit some schools while the road access to schools is blocked.  

Rain-triggered floods hit six townships in Mon State in July. The ministry closed 74 schools in Belin, 36 in Kyaikmayaw, three in Kyaikhto, 28 in Thaton, nine in Paung and eight in Mawlamyine Township.

According to the latest information, seven schools reopened in Kyaikmayaw Township on August 7.

Latest News
More News